H-E-B announces 2023 Excellence in Education School District and Early Childhood Finalists and recognizes outstanding Public School Boards

Sample article from our Retail & Omnichannel

January 12, 2023 (press release) –

Finalists selected for the retailer’s 21st annual Excellence in Education Awards program

Today, H-E-B announced eight school districts and five early childhood facilities throughout Texas as finalists in the retailer’s 21st annual Excellence in Education Awards program. H-E-B is also recognizing five public school boards in the annual program to highlight the importance of strong leadership at the board level.

Since the program’s inception, H-E-B has awarded nearly $13 million in funding to benefit outstanding Texas public schools and Early Childhood facilities. This year, H-E-B will award a total of $90,000 to the finalists, who will go on to compete for even greater cash prizes at the statewide level. Each finalist in the district, early childhood, and school board category will each receive $5,000.

To determine statewide winners, a panel of judges visit each finalist to tour campuses and engage with administration, staff, parents, and community members.

Winners will be announced at the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony on Sunday, April 30 at the La Cantera Resort and Spa in San Antonio. The winning large district will receive $100,000; the winning small district receives $50,000; the winning early childhood facility will receive $25,000; and if selected–one or more school boards will receive up to a total of $25,000.

Forty teacher and principal finalists will be announced in February and March during a series of surprise visits to schools and classrooms across Texas.

The 2023 school district and early childhood finalists, as well as recognized school boards, are as follows:


  • Arlington ISD
  • Corpus Christi ISD
  • Garland ISD
  • Spring Branch ISD (Houston, Texas)
  • Tomball ISD


  • Corsicana ISD
  • Fabens ISD
  • Montgomery ISD


  • Brighton Center (San Antonio)
  • Del Valle ISD Child Development Center (Del Valle)
  • Irene C. Cardwell Head Start and Pre-K (Del Rio)
  • Pre-K Academy at West Avenue/North East ISD (San Antonio)
  • The Child Development Center (Austin)


  • Edgewood ISD (San Antonio)
  • Northside ISD (San Antonio)
  • Texas City ISD
  • Tomball ISD
  • Tornillo ISD

About the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards

H-E-B asks customers, Partners (employees) and community members to nominate teachers, principals, districts, early childhood facilities and school boards in Texas. Each nominee is sent an invitation to complete an application online and is asked about their professional experiences, educational philosophies and achievements both in and out of the classroom.

A team of judges reviews the applications, narrowing the field to semi-finalists. From that pool, five regional judging panels comprised of former winners, administrators, and university and community leaders not affiliated with H-E-B select 40 teacher and principal finalists. Finalists and their schools receive a cash prize of $1,000 to $2,500, depending on category.

Three separate panels select eight school districts and five early childhood facilities as finalists, awarding $2,500 to $5,000 in cash prizes. Up to five school boards may also be recognized and awarded $5,000 towards the district they serve. Additionally, one or more school boards may receive a special judge’s award totaling up to $25,000. Site visits are conducted to determine winners.

Teacher and principal finalists are invited to compete on a statewide level for larger cash prizes totaling more than $400,000. A statewide panel of judges, not affiliated with H-E-B, conducts a personal interview with each finalist to select winners.

Eight winners—two principals and six teachers—are announced along with two school districts, one large and one small, a public-school board and an early childhood facility, at a celebratory dinner.

Each winning principal—one elementary school and one high school—receives $10,000 in cash for themselves and a $25,000 grant for their schools. The winning large school district receives a $100,000 cash prize and the winning small school district receives $50,000. The winning early childhood facility receives $25,000 and a school board could be awarded up to $25,000.

The six winning teachers include one elementary and one secondary teacher in each of three categories:

The Rising Star Award—honors exceptionally promising teachers with less than 10 years of experience. These winners will each receive a $5,000 check for themselves and a $5,000 grant for their schools.

The Leadership Award—honors teachers with 10 to 20 years in the classroom. These winners will each receive a $10,000 check for themselves and a $10,000 grant for their schools.

The Lifetime Achievement Award—salutes teachers with more than 20 years of experience. These teachers will each receive $25,000 in cash for themselves and a $25,000 grant for their schools.


* All content is copyrighted by Industry Intelligence, or the original respective author or source. You may not recirculate, redistrubte or publish the analysis and presentation included in the service without Industry Intelligence's prior written consent. Please review our terms of use.

See our dashboard in action - schedule an demo
Chelsey Quick
Chelsey Quick
- VP Client Success -

We offer built-to-order retail & omnichannel coverage for our clients. Contact us for a free consultation.

About Us

We deliver market news & information relevant to your business.

We monitor all your market drivers.

We aggregate, curate, filter and map your specific needs.

We deliver the right information to the right person at the right time.

Our Contacts

1990 S Bundy Dr. Suite #380,
Los Angeles, CA 90025

+1 (310) 553 0008

About Cookies On This Site

We collect data, including through use of cookies and similar technology ("cookies") that enchance the online experience. By clicking "I agree", you agree to our cookies, agree to bound by our Terms of Use, and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. For more information on our data practices and how to exercise your privacy rights, please see our Privacy Policy.