Wood WORKS! honors winners of Prairie Wood Design Awards for projects in Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan demonstrating innovative uses of wood in construction

EDMONTON, Alberta , November 10, 2011 (press release) – More than 150 design and building professionals, including architects, engineers, project teams and industry sponsors gathered on Monday evening to honour the nominees and winners of the 2011 Alberta Wood WORKS! Prairie Wood Design Awards. The Awards evening in Edmonton recognized leadership and innovation in wood use.

There were more than 40 nominations in 7 categories for the 2011 awards from Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Projects ranged from a historic restoration project to a university field station.

The panel of judges included Tye Farrow, Senior Partner, Farrow Partnership Architects Inc., Michael Green, Principal, mcfarlane І green І biggar Architecture + Design; Brian Rudy, Associate, Project Architect, Moriyama & Teshima.

Wood WORKS! is a national industry-led initiative of the Canadian Wood Council, that supports innovation and provides leadership on the use of wood and wood products. Through workshops, seminars and case studies, Alberta Wood WORKS! provides education, training and technical expertise to building and design professionals involved with commercial, institutional and industrial construction projects throughout the Prairies and Territories.

Winners in the wood design categories include:

Residential :
WY House - Winnipeg, MB - Syverson Monteyne Architecture
Interior Design Showcase :
SECFS Office Renovation - Winnipeg, MB - Michael Robertson Architect
Image courtesy of Gerry Kopelow Photographics Inc.
Enmax Calgary Zoo - Calgary, AB - Gibbs Gage Architects
Image courtesy of Caminus Photography Ltd.
Engineering Advocate:
Atlas Coal Mine Restoration - Drumheller, AB - Cascade Engineering Group
Municipal/Recreational :
Banff Community Recreational Centre - Banff, AB - GEC Architecture
Jury’s Choice:
Oxbow Field Station - Winnipeg, MB - Department of Architecture at the University of Manitoba
Jury’s Choice :
Atlas Coal Mine Restoration - Drumheller, AB - Atlas Coal Mine National Historical Society

* All content is copyrighted by Industry Intelligence, or the original respective author or source. You may not recirculate, redistrubte or publish the analysis and presentation included in the service without Industry Intelligence's prior written consent. Please review our terms of use.