USDA declares six Oklahoma counties natural disaster areas due to losses from drought, excessive heat, high winds, wildfires that began Jan. 1, 2011

Andrew Rogers

Andrew Rogers

Jan 5, 2012 – Associated Press

OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma , January 5, 2012 () – The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated six southern Oklahoma counties natural disaster areas, making them eligible for assistance.

Agriculture Department officials say Bryan, Choctaw, Jefferson, Love, McCurtain and Marshall counties qualify for aid because they are contiguous to counties in Texas, the primary natural disaster area. The declaration, announced Wednesday, is for losses caused by drought, excessive heat, high winds and wildfires that began Jan. 1, 2011.

Oklahoma ranchers and farmers in the six counties have eight months to apply for low-interest emergency loans from the USDA's Farm Service Agency.

Other programs include the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance and the Non-insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

© 2021 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


About Us

We deliver market news & information relevant to your business.

We monitor all your market drivers.

We aggregate, curate, filter and map your specific needs.

We deliver the right information to the right person at the right time.

Our Contacts

1990 S Bundy Dr. Suite #380,
Los Angeles, CA 90025 795

+1 (310) 558 0008
+1 (310) 558 0080 (FAX)

About Cookies On This Site

We collect data, including through use of cookies and similar technology ("cookies") that enchance the online experience. By clicking "I agree", you agree to our cookies, agree to bound by our Terms of Use, and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. For more information on our data practices and how to exercise your privacy rights, please see our Privacy Policy.