USDA declares five Virginia counties natural disaster areas due to Hurricane Irene

Andrew Rogers

Andrew Rogers

Dec 14, 2011 – Associated Press

RICHMOND, Virginia , December 14, 2011 () – The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated five counties in Virginia as primary natural disaster areas.

The department said Tuesday that Greensville and Lunenburg counties were designated primary natural disaster areas as a result of Hurricane Irene.

Farmers and ranchers in Brunswick, Charlotte, Dinwiddie, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Prince Edward, Southampton and Sussex counties, and the city of Emporia also qualify for assistance because the counties are contiguous.

As a result of drought and excessive heat over the summer, Cumberland, Pittsylvania and Powhatan counties also received disaster designations. Those in Amelia, Bedford, Buckingham, Campbell, Chesterfield, Fluvanna, Franklin, Goochland, Halifax, Henrico, Henry and Prince Edward counties, as well as the city of Danville also may qualify.

Farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency loans from the department.

© 2021 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


About Us

We deliver market news & information relevant to your business.

We monitor all your market drivers.

We aggregate, curate, filter and map your specific needs.

We deliver the right information to the right person at the right time.

Our Contacts

1990 S Bundy Dr. Suite #380,
Los Angeles, CA 90025 795

+1 (310) 558 0008
+1 (310) 558 0080 (FAX)

About Cookies On This Site

We collect data, including through use of cookies and similar technology ("cookies") that enchance the online experience. By clicking "I agree", you agree to our cookies, agree to bound by our Terms of Use, and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. For more information on our data practices and how to exercise your privacy rights, please see our Privacy Policy.