Nova Scotia appoints members to two forestry advisory committees intended to help province implement ecological forestry, achieve healthier forests; members are drawn from environmental organizations, forestry industry, Mi'kmaw community, academia

Sample article from our Forestry & Timberland

HALIFAX, Nova Scotia , June 6, 2022 (press release) –

NOTE: A full list of advisory committee members follows the release.

Two advisory committees, with refreshed terms of reference and membership, will help the Province implement ecological forestry and achieve healthier forests.

Natural Resources and Renewables Minister Tory Rushton announced appointments to the Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee and the Ministerial Advisory Committee today, June 3.

“We’re entering a new phase in ecological forestry implementation and it’s important to me that our work continues to be guided by expert voices and the best available science,” said Minister Rushton. “I thank committee members for sharing their time and expertise on behalf of all Nova Scotians. As we move forward with this critical work, we will benefit from these additional perspectives, as well as ongoing input from key stakeholders and the public.”

Appointments include people from environmental organizations, the forestry industry, the Mi'kmaw community and academia.

Six members have been appointed to the Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee, which guides the Department’s forest science and research. Members were chosen for their field expertise and their advice will address complex biodiversity conservation and resource-use issues. The committee will be providing scientific reviews needed to carry out several recommendations from the Forest Practices Review.

The Ministerial Advisory Committee, established in 2019, completed its mandate last fall. Six new members and one returning member have been appointed to advise the Minister on the adoption of ecological forestry on Crown land. This includes a new independent chair. Members were chosen for their expertise or experience in biodiversity and forestry.

Revised terms of reference will be posted online once approved by the committees.

Our committee will guide necessary scientific research and connect with the broader scientific community to support ecological forestry. The committee will also be focused on specific recommendations from the Forest Practices Review related to healthy forests and biodiversity, as we move to an ecosystem approach to forestry and sustainable forest resource use.
Tara Crewe, Chair, Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee; Manager of Ecosystems and Habitats, Department of Natural Resources and Renewables

I look forward to working with these members whose diverse interests, expertise, and perspectives will support government’s ongoing work in achieving ecological forestry on Crown lands.
Greg Herrett, Chair, Ministerial Advisory Committee; Chief Administrative Officer, Municipality of the County of Cumberland

Quick Facts:

  • Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee appointments are for three years
  • Ministerial Advisory Committee appointments are for two years
  • the Terms of Reference for the Forestry Transition Team, appointed in 2020, expired in June 2021; the appointed government and industry representatives of this team made numerous recommendations to the government on short-term actions that helped affected workers and businesses after the closure of the Northern Pulp mill and on areas for investment and action to support an ecologically sustainable and competitive forestry sector over the longer-term

Additional Resources:
Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee:

Ecological forestry:

Natural Resources and Renewables on Twitter:


Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee members:

Peter Bush, Manager of Forest Research and Planning, Department of Natural Resources and Renewables
Tara Crewe, chair and Manager of Ecosystems and Habitats, Department of Natural Resources and Renewables
Peter Duinker, professor emeritus, Dalhousie University (retired)
Thom Erdle, professor, University of New Brunswick (retired)
Tom Herman, professor emeritus, Acadia University (retired)
Yolanda Wiersma, professor, Memorial University

Ministerial Advisory Committee members:

Jane Barker, Co-Director, Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute
Kirsten Campbell, Manager, Cape Breton Privateland Partnership
Mac Davis, private woodlot owner
Angie Gillis, Associate Executive Director, Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq
Greg Herrett, chair and CAO, Municipality of the County of Cumberland
Breck Stuart, General Manager, Westfor Inc.
Chris Tufts, Vice-President, Tufts Forestry Services Ltd.

* All content is copyrighted by Industry Intelligence, or the original respective author or source. You may not recirculate, redistrubte or publish the analysis and presentation included in the service without Industry Intelligence's prior written consent. Please review our terms of use.

See our dashboard in action - schedule an demo
Dan Rivard
Dan Rivard
- VP Market Development -

We offer built-to-order forestry & timberland coverage for our clients. Contact us for a free consultation.

About Us

We deliver market news & information relevant to your business.

We monitor all your market drivers.

We aggregate, curate, filter and map your specific needs.

We deliver the right information to the right person at the right time.

Our Contacts

1990 S Bundy Dr. Suite #380,
Los Angeles, CA 90025

+1 (310) 553 0008

About Cookies On This Site

We collect data, including through use of cookies and similar technology ("cookies") that enchance the online experience. By clicking "I agree", you agree to our cookies, agree to bound by our Terms of Use, and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. For more information on our data practices and how to exercise your privacy rights, please see our Privacy Policy.